Wednesday, 11 April 2007

*waves*



Name: Laura
Blog: silentblog
Location: Southeast London, UK
Testimonies: compassion for animals, being teetotal, speaking truth to sexism, not breeding
Etc: Hello there. I'm 32 years old, live with my boyfriend and work for The Children's Society as an Administration Manager. I've been coming to Quaker meetings since 1999 and am a member of Southwark, Lewisham and Bromley MM. My own meeting is Blackheath: www.blackheathquakers.org.uk where I'm 'QPSW Correspondent' and sometimes doorkeeper.

I've also been involved in YFGM since 1999 and currently hold the post of Meeting for Sufferings Rep. On the side, outreach is a big interest for me, and I've worked a bit with Quaker Quest on outreach in London to students. Occasionally I contribute to Young Quaker magazine, but mostly I just write in my blog. 2007 will be my first ever BYM. One of the reasons I never went before is because I wasn't certain whether it was ok to just invite myself. In particular I'm looking forward to the 'Quakers and the State' stuff and the Swarthmore Lecture because I've met Beth Allen.

Non-quaker stuff I do includes cycling, going to the theatre, vegan cake-baking, vegan tourism, trying out the various classes available at the gym, reading wikipedia, Harry Potter fandom, feminist zinestering and learning French.

2 comments:

C. Wess Daniels said...

Laura, nice to meet you, I look forward to hanging out and working with you at BYM. I see you're into riding bikes, me too! I am going to be on the lookout for a road bike to use while I am in the UK so I don't go through withdrawal.

jez said...

yay! go blogging team!